Let’s Wine About It!

Have you ever wandered aimless through the liquor store wine section unsure of which wine to buy?

Have you ever stared blankly at a restaurant’s wine menu and ended up ordering the wine that is easiest to pronounce?

If you answered yes to either of these questions, we are on the same page. Wine is a scary and intimidating substance that I plan on becoming best friends with.

On Cloud Wine is your one-stop wine information blog for those who know nothing about wine.

My goal is to expand my wine vocabulary from white, red, and rosé to chardonnay, merlot, and zinfandel.

But first…

The Basics

Wine has been around since before I was born – 6,000 B.C. to be exact. You can thank the Ancient Greeks and Armenians for inventing wine. Throughout antiquity wine had a role in religion, medicine, and social purposes – however today it is mostly only used for the latter.

Wine is made from fermented grapes, yeast, and sulfur. Italy, France, and Spain are the top three wine producing countries in the world. There are hundreds of different types of wine varieties, but the five main types are:

  • Red
  • White
  • Rosé
  • Sparkling
  • Dessert

Faux Pas

Now that we know the basics, here are a few wine faux pas to remember:

  • Do not hold your wine glass from its bowl – this will warm the wine beyond its intended temperature.
  • Do not let the neck of the bottle touch the wine glass to avoid vino treachery. The wine should fall through the air into the centre of the glass to aid in the release of aromas and aeration.
  • Do not put ice in white wine. Diluting white wine with ice is as offensive as putting ketchup on a steak.
  • Do not fill your glass more than half way. A full glass not only increases your chance for spillage, but limits your ability to swirl and release the wine’s aromas.
http://kaylisvineyard.tumblr.com/post/138684847531
Source

That’s all for now! Follow me and my blog as I venture through the big wide world of wine.

Marika xo

5 thoughts on “Let’s Wine About It!

  1. Hey Marika, I loved your post! I was never really a wine person until I lived in Europe and it was served with every meal. This blog is absolutely awesome for people like me who frequently order wine with only two criteria: cheap and white. Hah! Looking forward to your future posts. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marika! As I’ve expressed on many occasions, I am SO excited for this blog. Would it be oxymoronic to identify as a wine enthusiast noob?

    Regardless, I love your use of colourful photos and simple fonts. Your list of wine Faux Pas is both hilarious and informative!

    I guess my only possible criticism would be the use of the phrase “Let’s wine about it” when that is so popular at Buzzfeed HQ. This is a stretch at best, though, because I truly love the premise of your blog and can’t wait to be enlightened!

    If you ever need a taste-tester, you know who to call 😉

    Like

  3. Great post Marika!

    First of all, I loved the writing style. Your fun writing style and use of subheadings make it very easy to read. As for the tips, I think all of them are “must-knows” for people like me who don’t know anything about wine other than the fact that some of them taste good!

    Can’t wait to read your future posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

